Tuesday, January 20, 2015

VotM January: SiskiyouNervous

Welcome to the launch for Vinyl of the Month! We are proud to present January’s selection:

Siskiyou Nervous

Siskiyou is a Vancouver, BC band formed in 2010 by two members (one current, one ex-) of Great Lake Swimmers: Colin Huebert and Erik Arnesen.  Nervous is their third and most expansive album, featuring guest appearances by Colin Stetson, Owen Pallet, Ryan Driver and many others.

Exclaim! had this to say about the album:

"A lush, stunning baroque rock album... Whereas Siskiyou's first two albums were more folk-inclined, Nervous takes a different approach, with hushed, haunted art rock as a sturdy — but eerie — sonic base upon which the orchestral elements stand fully supported."

Fans of Canadiana’s darker arts, everything from 70s Neil Young to current groups like Black Mountain and Timber Timbre, are sure to find something to love about Nervous.

For more information you can head over to the Constellation Records website which also features lead track “Deserter” to have a listen.

If you are a member of the VotM Club we’d love to hear your feedback on the album, either here on the blog page or on Facebook.


No comments: